Sunday, November 22, 2020

The Hi-Techs

For a long time I have listened to the new wave band Personal Effects. I love them and I think I have everything they ever recorded.

 Not too far back in time I was listening to a compilation record called "From the City that Brought You...Absolutely Nothing" and I thought the stand-out song on that record was a song called "Pompeii" by a band called The Hi-Techs. I never heard of The Hi-Techs before then. I had no idea who they were. But, thanks to the awesome power of the internet and Discogs, I immediately found out that The Hi-Techs was a band that preceded my beloved Personal Effects and was made up of members of that band. 

I had to find out what else they recorded and it amounts to this - two 7"s and the song from the comp.

I present to you here both 7"s, the song from the compilation, and the first EP by the new incarnation of the band called Personal Effects. 

The Hi-Techs - Boogaloo Rendezvous 7" (1980)

A - Boogaloo Rendezvous

B - Subscriptions (are My Subscription)

The Hi-Techs - Screamin' You Head 7" (1981)

A - Screamin' You Head

B - A Woman's Revenge

The Hi-Techs - Pompeii (from the compilation)



Personal Effects - Personal Effects EP (1982) 

1 So Hard

2 Magic (I've Been Waiting)

3 Low Riders

4 Love Never Thinks

5 Don't Wake Me

DOWNLOAD both Hi-Techs singles, the song from the comp, and the Personal Effects EP

Wednesday, November 11, 2020

The Investigators - The Investigators (1991)

 Everywhere this record is listed it is described as a ska record. 

It is not a ska record. There is not one single second of ska anywhere on the record.

What it is, is more mod with hints of soul, jump-blues and a little bit of swing. It's very horn-heavy and inspired greatly by television crime dramas.

1 Ironside

2 All My World

3 Something New (From Now On)

4 'Cause I'm Walking

5 Investigators

6 Sweet Little Girl

7 Keep On Fighting

8 Soul Party (Keep On Moving!)